Join the Sarah Siddons Society
for an evening of food, drink and talent!

Monday, February 20 | 7:30 p.m.
Petterino’s, 150 N. Dearborn at Randolph

RSVP now!

Special thank you to the Schuyler Sisters - Eliza (Ari Asfar), Peggy (Samantha Marie Ware) & Kaitlin Fine (Associate Company Manager of HAMILTON) for joining us at the Sarah Siddons Annual Meeting on December 15th at the Union League of Chicago.

The 2016 Sarah Siddons Award was presented on May 16 to Broadway stars Brian D’Arcy James and Sutton Foster

The 2016 Sarah Siddons Award was presented on May 16 to Broadway stars Brian D’Arcy James and Sutton Foster. Due to illness, Ms. Foster was unable to attend the awards ceremony.  The Sarah Siddons Awards has been given annually to an outstanding actor and has included major stars from theatre and film.  Past recipients have included Helen Hayes, Bette Davis, Lauren Bacall, Carol Channing, Jessica Tandy, Liza Minelli, Bernadette Peters and Julie Andrews.  More recently the award has been given to Barbara Cook, Audra McDonald, Bebe Neuwirth and Jessie Mueller.

The awards ceremony included performances by two former Sarah Siddons Scholarship winners, composer-lyricist Michael Mahler and Christine Mild.  Mr. James was the 1989 Scholarship winner while an undergrad at Northwestern.  In addition, five of Northwestern’s Music Theatre students sang musical highlights from Mr.

Dominic Missimi

Message from Artistic Director, Dominic Missimi

James and Ms. Foster’s major Broadway shows.

Tony nominee Kate Baldwin introduced Mr. James.  They had played opposite each other in a new musical GIANT, at New York’s Public Theatre. At the time of the awards ceremony,  Ms. Baldwin was starring as Anna in the Chicago Lyric Opera’s THE KING AND I. Broadway producer Barbara Whitman (FUN HOME) detailed the highlights of Ms. Foster’s career. about award winner Foster.

In his acceptance speech, Mr. James paid special tribute to his former professors, Acting teacher Bud Beyer and Music Theatre head Dominic Missimi. Ryan Nelson served as music director for the 10 piece orchestra and Mr. Missimi staged the event.

Over 700 patrons attend the event, becoming the best attended event in Sarah Siddons history.

2016-Season Theatre Party Season

Sarah Siddons Theatre parties have gotten off to an outstanding start for the 2016-2017 Season.  The first outing was to the Goodman Theatre to see the critically acclaimed production of the new musical WAR PAINT, starring Tony winning actresses Patti LuPone and Chrisitne Ebersole.  Members returned to the Goodman in late September for Mary Zimmerman’s production of the Leonard Bernstein musical WONDERFUL TOWN. Doug Peck, a longtime friend of the Sarah Siddons Society, provided the musical direction. On Oct. 27 many of the SSS members attended the much-awaited production of HAMILTON at the Bank of America Theatre. A special session with members of the cast is planned for the December 15 Annual Meeting at the Union League of Chicago.  Future theatre trips include a full day marathon at the Chicago Shakespeare Theatre, featuring a matinee of SHAKESPEARE IN LOVE directed by Rachel Rockwell. 

The day long activity will include dinner at Navy Pier’s Riva restaurant and special talk-back sessions with directors, actors and creators.


Four winners of the Sarah Siddons Scholarship were announced at the Awards Ceremony on May 16 at the Pick Staiger Concert Hall on Northwestern’s Evanston Campus.

Lara Garay, a senior from Columbia College, is one of three Columbia students who shared the scholarship. Lara has been seen in several productions at Columbia.  The second winner from Columbia was Anastasia Johnson who is pursuing a double major in Theatre Performance and American Sign Language Interpreting.  The third Columbia winner is Abby Walburn, who has appeared in six productions at Columbia.

From Northwestern University Jessie Jennison was announced as a scholarship winner.  Jessie has been seen in several campus production and is a Co-Chair of this year’s famed Waa-Mu show.

Scholarship winner Patrick Kelly is a Senior Acting major at Roosevelt University.  The second winner from Roosevelt is Patrick Regner, a senior Musical Theatre major and the third recipient is Sierra Schnack, also a BFA candidate in Music Theatre with a Dance Concentration. 

We congratulate all of our talented winners!

Columbia College featured in New NOW festival in Amsterdam

Columbia College Chicago Theatre Department was featured in the NEW NOW Festival 2015,sponsored by the European League of Institutes of the Arts (ELIA). Two devised performance pieces created by Columbia College theatre students and alum was selected for inclusion in the festival, which ran from September 9-13 in Amsterdam. Columbia students and alumni are the only American college students chosen to participate in this prestigious and competitive juried international showcase of cutting-edge performance.

The NEW NOW Festival was presented by the European League of Institutes of Arts at Amsterdam’s historic Westergasfabriek culture park Sept. 9-13. This event was a thrilling opportunity for students and graduates to share their artistic vision with other innovative artists in an international forum — and great exposure for Columbia College and the City of Chicago in front of an international audience of artists, arts educators and arts journalists.

The Columbia College contingent was represented by two performance pieces, both created entirely by the students. One, United States of Amnesia, was performed live in the festival. The other, The Wonderers and Other Stories, was showcased in video as part of the NEW NOW Festival’s online component, and was presented online for viewing by an array of artists, presenters, and arts organizations around the world. The two works were created by the Room | 916 Collective, an ensemble of current and former Columbia College theatre students.


Sarah Siddons Society Introduces Leading Players

The Sarah Siddons Society is introducing LEADING PLAYERS spearheaded by Dominic Missimi, Siddons’ Artistic Director. Leading Players is a new, innovative creative arm of the sixty year old esteemed organization known for raising scholarship monies for talented theatre students at selected Chicagoland colleges and universities.

Leading Players is composed of theatre artists—actors, singers, dancers, directors, choreographers, producers, educators and arts managers. They will become an integral part of the organization serving as performing artists for Sarah Siddons Society events as well as creating a more varied season of theatrical programming for the organization.

Look for more news from LEADING PLAYERS soon!